You are here

Nominations for 2016 Elsevier Foundation Awards

January 16, 2015

This year's Elsevier Foundation Awards in Biological Sciences (including agriculture, biology and medicine) are for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World.

If you know a young, gifted and determined biological scientist who deserves recognition and encouragement, and who has demonstrated her commitment to enabling other women scientists to build successful research careers, fill out the nomination form below! The deadline is 15 September 2015.

"This year's winners, like all women undertaking scientific research in developing countries, have certainly faced challenges on the road to this award," said Professor Fang Xin, President of OWSD. “But their determination, commitment and enthusiasm have paid off. The award is recognition that they are excellent scientists and that their research has made an impact both regionally and internationally. They are an inspiration to all young women considering careers in science."


These Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World were launched in 2012 by The Elsevier Foundation, TWAS and OWSD to celebrate the achievements of women scientists in the early stages of their careers, with the aim of creating role models for other women to follow- a step which is critical for retaining top talent and building a stronger research culture in developing countries.

Five Awards are given annually, one each to a female scientist from one of five regions. The Awards rotate between disciplines

The winners each receive a cash prize of US$5,000, plus all-expenses paid attendance at the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), which in 2016 will be in Washington D.C., as well as one year's access to Elsevier's ScienceDirect and Scopus journals.

Winners will also be asked to act as mentors to selected young women scientists undertaking PhD scholarships through the OWSD South-South PhD programme, and will receive training in this regard.  

The 2015 winners (from Nigeria, Sudan and Vietnam) received their awards for excellence in the Physics and Mathematics during a special networking breakfast awards ceremony at the AAAS meeting, which last year was held in San Jose, California. During the week of the conference they had many opportunities to make important research contacts and gain visibility for the important work they are doing.

You can see a film about their experiences here.

Success stories

Search form